Spring Break Activity? Creativity!

It’s been another great week of creativity at my house during Spring Break!  So, without further ado, I share all,…

Sunday, March 8th began my week with a triolet poem.  A what? (you might ask)  The triolet is a stanza poem of eight lines. Its rhyme scheme is ABaAabAB and often all lines are in tetrameter; the first, fourth and seventh lines are identical, as are the second and final lines, thereby making the initial and final couplets identical as well.  I tried, but failed fabulously…so here, I try again, using pentameter instead (10 beats per line).  I’m just a rebel that way! I guess I shall have to teach it correctly, but you have to know the correct way to bend the rules for art, right?

The Daily Create does call me away
Come, let me inspire your mind.
Whose story will my sad little poem say?
The Daily Create does call me away
In what ear will my tinkling music play?
In whose heart will my sketchy painting stay?
The Daily Create does call me away
Come, let me inspire your mind.

Monday, March 9th was a very tough day, a marshmallow sculpture??? And not just a marshmallow sculpture, which is bad enough, but a video of a making a marshmallow sculpture! ACK!

Honestly, I had no idea what I was making when I started, and yes, I ate the marshmallows when I was done!

Tuesday, March 10th was a picture collage, featuring me, so I went with “Lil Vicky” and put together several black and white photos.  Yeah, they’re black and white, but we were lucky to have cameras way back in the dark ages! Ha!

B W Lil Vicky tdc1157She’s a dolly!

Wednesday, March 11th was a very special day!  The task was to draw an abstract sketch of a favorite event from the past week.  Well I guess it’s not very abstract, but it is my favorite moment, the moment when I heard…

Hired tdc1158That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, I was offered a Language Arts teaching position beginning in August 2015!  We’re pretty excited around here, but now the reality sets in…(scary music here) “Now What Do I Do?”

Now for the next few months, it’s all hands on deck to get me to the other side of the state to Crawford, Nebraska, in the beautiful Pine Ridge area. Small town America…and my husband and I are really looking forward to it!

On Thursday, March 12th my assignment was to make a video of something that makes me LOL, laugh out loud.  My pet, Katie, makes me laugh out loud, especially when she tries to “catch the red dot.”  Here’s a video of the fun…

On Friday, March 13th, the DS106 assignment was to create a “ransom note” if Jim Groom was kidnapped.  I don’t know the man, I assume he’s a creator for DS106, so I played along.  I have to say, notes that use letters cut out from a magazine are a LOT of work!  I didn’t really appreciate it until I created one…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very colorful, cute and weird to make, but there it is.

Finally, on Saturday, March 14th we were to write a poem about how music has changed my life, so I wrote this…

Music Is The Sound Track

Do you remember where you were
When that song became “our song?”
Was it your first kiss
Or was it the first dance?
Do you remember?

Do you remember where you were
When that song touched your heart?
Were you watching the Stars and Stripes boldly wave,
Standing with your hand over your heart?
Do you remember?

Do you remember where you were
When that song meant you were young and free?
Were you cruising Main Street
In your muscle car with a new driver’s license?
Do you remember?

Do you remember where you were
And what you were doing
When music touched the moments of your life
And caused you to remember them forever?

Music is the sound track of our lives.

So, that’s about it for this week’s fun and creativity.  It’s been eventful, and I’m glad it was all during Spring Break.

By the way, Saturday was Pi Day of the Century!  Twice on Saturday the time was 3/14/15 9:26:53, the first 10 digits of Pi!  That won’t happen again for 100 years – what a cool “Math Geek” fun fact!

I hope everyone had a great Spring Break.  Have a great week!

4 thoughts on “Spring Break Activity? Creativity!

  1. This whole post made me smile! The music in both your videos was perfect, and your dog looks big so I bet it’s hilarious watching him (or her?) chase a laser light. Also, great job on the ransom note and a huge congrats on the the new job!

    Like

  2. Thanks Tristan! Katie (my dog) is a very large yellow lab, and she is a hoot to watch chase the red dot. She hasn’t caught it yet, but I’ve been busted by her holding the light! I think I caught a look of disgust on her face…haha

    Like

Leave a comment