Daily Create – Week 4!

It’s week four of my Daily Create,…as always I apologize in advance!

Sunday, March 15 Create a Lesson – I wrote “How to Create a Bead Dog.”How to make a bead dog tdc1162

On Monday, March 16 the assignment was to draw a stairway, with steps on how to get to my “biggest dream.”  I’ve done a lot in my life already (seen here as “The Land of Been There, Done That), so my dreams consist of time with my wonderful family, teaching (of course), building my log house at the end of a long driveway, and travel.  My ultimate goal is Heaven, The Great Adventure.  I can’t see where the Lord will take me before then, so the stairway curves.

Stairs to the stars 1163

On Tuesday, March 17 I chose an alternate assignment: Daily Create Assignment #1500: Write a short story with ten random words, using the Random Word Generator to create a fairy tale, thus was King Frank and the Cooking Contest written.  See it posted on my blog here:  https://peanutbuttertheater.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/king-frank-and-the-cooking-contest/

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn Wednesday, March 18 the assignment was to turn junk mail into art.  That sounded fun, and it was!

I created a gift bow.  I thought it was cute, don’t you? If I had the time, I’d make more!

On Thursday, March 19 the assignment was to take a photograph with an artistic blur.

“Rite of Spring” featuring Miss Condola Rashad, California Institute of the Arts.

I posted this remarkable blur photo taken at dress rehearsal of a show named “Rite of Spring”, on which I worked as an Assistant Stage Manager.  The young lady at the front is Condola Rashad, daughter of Phylicia Rashad, actress.  Condola is now a talented stage actress in her own right.

On Friday March 20 the assignment was to write a poem about a rainy day.  I like rainy days, especially with a thunderstorm.  Thinking about writing a poem reminded me of playing in the rain with my cousins, so I wrote “Make a Wish in the Rain,” put it on a fun background, and posted it on my Flickr site.  I also posted the words on the ds106 site.

Make a Wish pic w poemFinally, on Saturday, March 21 the assignment was to do a reading of the poem I created the day before.  I got to use Sound Cloud for the first time with this assignment – that was fun!  It made me think how fun it would be to record stories for my grandchildren, so they could hear me read to them.  (awwww)

For those of you who remember, doesn’t the sound of me reading that poem remind you of “Romper Room” ending with the Magic Mirror? “Magic Mirror, tell me today, did all my friends have fun at play?”  You can experience it the way I saw it here. Romper Room was a morning children’s show that ran from 1953 until 1994.  This is definitely part of my childhood memories…I always hoped that Miss Nancy would say my name.

The Daily Create would be great to use for writing or activity prompt ideas, so I may use this again for my students! I’ll still be monitoring this site for future ideas, and you may see some further creativity when it strikes my fancy!

With that, I think that’s it for me.  I hope you enjoyed my Daily Create month as much as I did making it.

7 thoughts on “Daily Create – Week 4!

  1. Your lesson on the bead dog is an adorable idea! I loved how you had the “been there done that” in your staircase to your dream. The bow was an awesome creation that must have took hours! What a cool experience and story behind your blur picture. Your poem made me think of my childhood days in the rain 🙂 Great audio create! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. The bead dog comes from my days as a clown. It’s a simple thing that kids love and older folks love to make. So cute!

      The bow, surprisingly enough was about the simplest thing to do – paper and glue!

      Thanks for your kind words!

      Like

  2. Cute bead dog– Very creative! And your drawing of the staircase is amazing. You’re very talented. The “land of been there done that” cracked me up. It’s neat to see that even though you’ve experienced life events you still have numerous stairs & are learning as you go. All of your daily create assignments are very well done. Looks like you’re really embracing these challenges!

    Like

    1. Thanks Brittany! The curved stairway made sense to me since I can’t always see how I’ll get somewhere, but I know I will! 🙂 Maybe I’m too persnickety, because they typically take me more than 15-20 minutes to create, but I’m satisfied with the result!

      Like

Leave a comment