Quotable Thursday: Bedtime Stories

Bedtime stories from flickr - shaun_sheep“Deep in the meadow, under the willow
A bed of grass, a soft green pillow
Lay down your head and close your sleepy eyes
And when again they open, the sun will rise.
Here it’s safe, here it’s warm
Here the daisies guard you from every harm
Here your dreams are sweet, and tomorrow brings them true
Here is the place where I love you.”

This sweet quote is from a song in the Hunger Games series, the beginning of a rather morbid song.

This verse sounds like something you’d sing your kids to sleep with as you tuck them into bed and wish them sweet dreams. It reminds me of evenings when my kids were little and I used to sing to them when I tucked them in bed, and we said our prayers. I also let my boys stay up an extra half hour if they would read – often my elder son would read to his little brother. Such a sweet picture!

I don’t remember my mother ever tucking me in bed, singing me to sleep or even reading to me, although I’m almost certain she read to me when I was young. I used to go to the library for story hour once a week, and I still love to be read to, and so does my family. This is probably why I still like audio-books.

When I travel with my husband, we usually listen to talk radio, or for entertainment, we listen to SiriusXM station that has old radio shows telling stories. Over the weekend we sometimes listen to NPR’s “Prairie Home Companion.”

Sisters
Sisters

At all of our holidays and family gatherings, we tell stories on each other! I think we should record some of those stories for posterity so our children can remember, or read them to their children and grandchildren. I guess life stories can be more fun to tell than fiction!

When I think of my grandparents and older aunts and uncles who are gone now, I feel a little nostalgic – these are the people I considered to be the great storytellers in our family. Perhaps this happens to every generation – as I get older I think back to my family gatherings, telling stories over fried chicken and mashed potatoes, and hope that our children will pass the stories on.

Maybe someday I’ll hear, “Tell me a story grandma!” as I tuck my grandchildren into bed.

“Well, did I ever tell you about the time that your dad and his brother sat in the mouth of a whale?” Yes, let the bedtime stories begin.

Whale Harvesting Season
Whale Harvesting Season

4 thoughts on “Quotable Thursday: Bedtime Stories

  1. It is a great thing to love a story. I grew up in a reading home as well. When my oldest son was little my grandparents went to a studio and recorded some of their favorite poems for Christmas. We are able to listen to Grandma and Grandpa reciting poetry I grew up with to my kids. some are a little above them such as The Cremation of Sam McGee (my favorite) but I love them!

    Like

  2. Wow! What a great idea! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wished that I had recorded family members when they told some of our great family stories. Recording poems or reading a book for the grandkids is a good idea! I might do that for my own grandchildren. They may not appreciate it when they’re young, but I’m certain they will later!

    Like

  3. I love your post!! I have the best memories of my parents and grandmother reading to me and my sisters. Those tender moments reading together help kids develop a deep bond with parents or care-givers and I think it can help nurture a lifelong passion for reading.

    Like

  4. My son and daughter-in-law read to their children before bedtime everyday. The children are allowed to pick three books to read, and they read them together, everyone all huddled together in a big chair, the couch or on a bed. It’s a beautiful thing!

    Like

Leave a comment