Dehydrated Fruit Is My Fave Snack,…Right After Cookies!

I confess cookies are my all time favorite snack, but I’ve gained a new appreciation for dehydrated fruit from the types that I’ve tried.  The taste of the fruit slice actually gets sweeter after drying.  While reading tweets this week I found this message from Mik:

I agree! Since it’s time to slim down for warmer weather, dried fruit is much better than cookies!  (Too bad it’s also Girl Scout Cookie time! Rats!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For this week’s dehydration project, I returned to my favorite – apple slices – using an entire bag of Braeburn apples.  I’ve dried apples before, so this week, the experimental part came in when I tried different shapes.  In addition to typical slices, I used my mandolin to cut crosscut circle slices (through the core), and also created “apple fries” like I’d seen at the store.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For slices, I precut the apples with my apple slicer/corer, then cut the wedges into 3-4 slices each.  They must be very slender slices to dry into the crispy chips I like.  If they are cut thicker, it takes longer to dry, and they become gummy apple slices.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I dipped the slices in lemon juice and water (1:3 ratio) and laid them on a rack. The ratio of one part lemon juice to three parts water is strong enough to preserve the fruit, and mild enough not to have lemon flavored apples.  I like this better than using Fruit Fresh – nothing but natural in these chips!

Just for fun, I added pear slices too.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  I’ve never dried a pear, so I decided to try it out with this batch of apples.

I went overnight this time, eight hours, and I’ll take a peek in the morning!  It was actually kind of nice to go to sleep to the scent of warm apples and pears, and I didn’t even have to light a candle!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well, this all looks very good, but it wasn’t quite dry, so I put it back in for another two hours, and checked it after work.  That meant they sat after the drying cycle cooling for a few hours.  During that time, the slices crisp up a bit, no harm at all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was not impressed with the apple “fries.” The apple piece looks more like a wrinkled, old apple core, and it was flexible, not crisp.  It’ll get eaten, but I don’t think I’ll do this one again.  *Blah*  :oP

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The apple rings?  They came out really nice!  They actually look like an apple “chip!”

They’re crunchy and sweet, just the way I like it.  They’re even slightly quicker to make than apple slices, but I don’t get as many of these per apple.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The pears slices were a big hit!  They were crunchy, sweet and very mild.  I really like them, but I think I’ll try different types next time, like I have with apples.  Many of my apple jars have a variety of apples slices and tastes in them, from very sweet to slightly tart – a real fall harvest of flavor!

4 thoughts on “Dehydrated Fruit Is My Fave Snack,…Right After Cookies!

    1. Thin Mints are my faves! When I can’t get Girl Scout cookes in the “off season” I turn to Keebler Grasshoppers…same thing. (It’s too bad I found those, now I have to stay away from the cookie aisle! haha)

      Like

Leave a comment